NASSCO Convention Sets Attendance Record

With attendance soaring, the National Association of Sewer Service Companies (NASSCO) held their 38th annual meeting in February at the historic Marriott Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego, CA.

Traditionally, convention attendance slows somewhat when the group ventures to the West Coast. But as has been indicative of the phenomenal growth of the association, a record number of 163 people attended the event prompting NASSCO organizers to expand plans for the 2015 convention from Feb. 11 – 14 at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa in Savannah, GA.

In addition to the convention growth, overall association membership continues to increase, now approaching 500 members. Much of that success can be attributed to NASSCO’s broad spectrum of industry initiatives and programs.

New NASSCO President Stuart Tillery of Duke’s Root Control, addresses attendees at annual convention in San Diego.

While networking and relaxation was definitely on the agenda for this meeting, NASSCO has retitled its annual convention as a “conference” due to the heavy schedule of information and technology presented during the business sessions. Also, NASSCO relies heavily on its various committees to tackle specific projects and industry needs. In addition to the morning business sessions, NASSCO devotes two full afternoons to the important committee work.

An increasingly popular event is NASSCO’s annual Technical Day. The program included a presentation on acoustic sewer inspection, panel presentations on crossbores in sewers or laterals, overview of condition assessment and rehabilitation technologies for pressure pipe, and a municipal forum with representatives from three Southern California municipal districts.

During the event’s final night banquet, outgoing NASSCO President Joan Stone of Pipelogix, told the group that I’ve really enjoyed the year. It has been very rewarding to see the growth of NASSCO and this full room.”


The banquet was also highlighted by two special NASSCO awards. Dick Shantz, recently retired from Aires Industries, was incorporated into the Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths, and Gerry Muenchmeyer, Muenchmeyer & Associates and NASSCO Technical Director, was named the Trainer of the Year. The group also took time to honor David Magill who recently passed away after battling cancer. Magill was an instrumental member of the association for much of its history.

The new president for 2014 is Stuart Tillery of Duke’s Root Control. Other officers include: Vice President Mark Metcalfe, Hoffman Southwest Corporation; Secretary Michael Poplawski; and Treasurer Kay Doheny, Jack Doheny Companies.

The 2014 board of directors are: Jacob Trapani, BLD Services; Steve Hirtz, SAK Construction; Joe Schotthoefer, Doetsch Environmental; Tim Vivian, Green Mountain Pipeline Services; Bob O’Connor, Municipal & Contractor Sealing Products; Jason Roy, Mar-Tech Underground Services; Peter Kurz, Pipeline Renewal Technologies; Daniel Magill, Avanti International, Joan Stone, Pipelogix; and Luis Leon, CDM-Smith.

NASSCO, (410) 486-3500,

The 2014 NASSCO Officers and Board of Directors.

Related Articles