Bright Future Predicted For PLCAC

The Pipeline Contractors Association of Canada (PLCAC) celebrated their 60th Anniversary in Vancouver, B.C., May 11-15.

Nearly 400 delegates gathered for the convention at the Westin Bayshore Hotel, located in picturesque Coal Harbour in downtown Vancouver and historic Stanley Park.

The first day of the event, golfers tested their skills on the scenic Furry Creek Golf and Country Club that provided ocean views and encounters with abundant wildlife. That evening, delegates and their guests kicked off the event with a “Diamonds are Forever” party theme.

On the second night, John Deere treated everyone to a “Splash Bash” party at the Vancouver Aquarium. Wednesday evening featured a “Best of the 60s” theme party, sponsored by Caterpillar. Attendees also had the opportunity for optional PLCAC activities that included a tour of Granville Island, a Vancouver Harbor boat cruise, sea kayaking and a bike tour of Stanley Park.

Business Agenda

The PLCAC convention boasted a packed, informative agenda as well. This Diamond Anniversary got off to a great start with outgoing PLCAC 2013-14 President David Johnstone, T.W. Johnston Co. Ltd., giving a report to members that the association has grown in activity and provided a positive message regarding the future of pipeline construction work in Canada. He reported that over the past year the association, through its partnership with the Canadian Pipeline Advisory Council, met with stakeholders to discuss future training initiatives and ways contractors and their labor partners could meet the labor demand needed for the industry. One of the highlights of the message was the amount of activity coming from the mainline pipeline, distribution pipeline and maintenance and service segments contributing to the highest man-hours worked on record for the association.

The morning business sessions featuring industry speakers from Enbridge and TransCanada provided an opportunity for delegates to get the most up-to-date information on current and future pipeline projects across the country. Also, guest speakers, Canadian Astronaut Colonel Chris Hadfield and Joe Roberts rounded out the morning sessions.

Safety Awards

Safety awards were also part of the agenda. The PLCAC annually recognizes member companies who have distinguished themselves with exemplary safety performance and safety records over the past year through the James L. Abraham Pipeline Construction Safety Awards Program. The winners for 2013 are:
• Mainline Pipeline Construction: Robert B. Somerville Co. Ltd.; also with zero lost-time accidents in this category are Aecon, Michels Canada Co. and O.J. Pipelines Canada.
• Distribution Pipeline Construction: Link-Line Contractors Ltd.; also with zero lost-time accidents in this category are Aecon, Robert B. Somerville Co. Ltd. and T.W. Johnstone Co. Ltd.
• Specialty Contractor (Transportation) Over 20,000 Man-Hours Worked: Premay Pipeline Hauling L.P.
• Specialty Contractor Other (Maintenance) Over 20,000 Man-Hours Worked: Summit Pipeline Services ULC; also with zero lost-time accidents in this category are Michels Canada Co. and Robert B. Somerville Co. Ltd.
• Specialty Contractor Other (Testing) Under 20,000 Man-Hours Worked: TESTCO Western Corp.; also with zero lost-time accidents in this category is Academy Construction & Maintenance Ltd.

The annual Jack Cressey Future Leader Award was presented to Tom Patcka, project manager for O.J. Pipelines Canada. Established in 1995 in memory of Jack Cressey, a board member and past president of the PLCAC, this award recognizes leadership and is open to Regular Association members’ employees who have not yet attained executive status in their company.

Officers and Directors

New officers and board members for 2014-2015 were elected at the convention as well. Executive Committee is: President Michael Prior, senior strategic advisor, Michels Canada Co.; Vice President Mark Scherer, senior vice president of utilities, Aecon; 2nd Vice President Neil Waugh, vice president of operations, Link-Line Contractors Ltd.; Treasurer Lyall Nash, president of TESTCO Western Corp.; and David Johnstone, president of T.W. Johnstone Co. Ltd. is Immediate Past President of the association and Neil Lane serves as the PLCAC executive director.

Contractor Directors are: Nick de Koning, president of Robert B. Somerville Co. Ltd.; David Kavanaugh, president of O.J. Pipelines Canada; Paul Schultz, senior vice president of Premay Pipeline Hauling L.P.; and Kevin Waschuk, vice president of Waschuk Pipe Line Construction Ltd.

Associate Directors are: David Douglas, manager, Canadian Pipeline Division, Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers (Canada) Ltd.; and Bernie Lailey, National Pipeline, manager, Acklands-Grainger Inc.

Committee chairmen appointed are: National Labour Relations Committee, Lyall Nash, TESTCO Western Corp.; Convention Planning Committee, Bernie Lailey, Acklands-Grainger Inc.; Education and Training Committee, Donald Cusack, MTS Canada; Membership and Promotion Committee, Kevin Waschuk, Waschuk Pipe Line Construction Ltd.; Pipeline Standards Committee, Michael Prior, Michels Canada Co.; and, chairing the PLCAC Safety
Committee is Gerry Harding, Michels Canada Co.

The last evening of the convention featured a 60th Gala Celebration Reception and Banquet. Martin Dube, an impressionist, entertained the crowd with songs performed by well-known personalities. Mike Prior, Michels Canada, newly elected PLCAC president for 2014-15, will preside over the 2015 convention to be held April 13-17 on the Island of Maui, at the Hyatt Regency Resort.

Pipeline Contractors Association of Canada: (905) 847-9383,

Related Articles