April 2012, Vol. 67 No. 4


NASSCO Continues To Expand Programs, Membership

Robert Carpenter, Editor

It was another busy year of growth and accomplishment for NASSCO (National Association of Sewer Service Companies), as membership reached an all-time high of nearly 450, plus the more than 150 delegates at the annual convention also set a record.

The NASSCO convention was held in February at the lavish Caesar’s Palace complex in Las Vegas, NV. As usual, a very aggressive schedule of general membership meetings and committee break-out sessions combined with technical presentations highlighted the convention. However, there was still plenty of time for social and fun activities.

There were even more impressive numbers revealed at the convention as well. NASSCO’s renowned Pipeline Assessment & Certification Program (PACP) has now successfully trained about 12,500 people – and PACP is continuing to expand. Honored with an achievement award was the principal driver of the initial development and growth of the PACP program, Rod Thornhill, president of White Rock Consultants.

Rod Thornhill (center), receives a special award for his work in establishing NASSCO’s PACP program. Presenting the award are (left) is current NASSCO President John Nelson and (right) NASSCO Executive Director Ted DeBoda.

Also, the recently launched CIPP Inspector Training Program has already certified about 625 people and a new inspector training program for pipe bursting should be launched soon.

Outgoing NASSCO President Kathy Romans told the crowd that her term as president “has been the fastest year I can remember in a long, long time.

“I’m confident in the growth and direction of NASSCO. We all work hard in this industry and for this organization,” she added.


Another highlight of the business sessions was a presentation and preview of the new NASSCO video “Introduction to Sewer Cleaning with Jetting Equipment.” It took a year to complete development, videotaping and editing of this ambitious project. The 55-minute video was developed to further NASSCO’s mission to set industry standards for the assessment and rehabilitation of underground pipelines. Designed to accompany NASSCO’s “Jetter Code of Practice”, the video is also extremely useful for viewing on its own.

The production of the video was made possible by the support of several NASSCO member sponsors including: Jack Doheny Supplies, Vac-Con, Vactor Manufacturing, NozzTeq, Applied Felts, Brenford Environmental Systems, Compliance EnviroSystems, CIPP Corporation, Doetsch Environmental Services, Duke’s Root Control, Insituform, LMK, Logiball, Mar-Tech Underground Services, Pro-Pipe, RapidView, Sewer Equipment Company and Visu-Sewer.

NASSCO has been steadily building its scholarship fund and during the convention announced two recipients of the 2012 Jeffrey D. Ralston Memorial Scholarship: Kenneth Ryan McLarrin, Louisiana Tech University getting his degree in Construction Engineering and Technology; and Smith Farley Rangel Sanabria, University of Maryland-College Park, who is completing a Professional Master of Engineering- Project Management. Each will receive $2,000.

Incoming NASSCO President John Nelson is vice president at Visu-Sewer, a contracting company based in Pewaukee, WI. Nelson marks the third president from Visu-Sewer which has been a long-time active member and supporter of NASSCO.

As he formally assumed the NASSCO presidency, Nelson told the audience that “it’s great to catch up with old friends and meet new ones.

“Fortunately, we’re in an industry that has been somewhat flourishing in a difficult time. NASSCO members are some of the most hard working and successful people you’ll ever know. That’s what has made NASSCO so successful.

“I look forward to seeing each of you now and in the future in this fine organization,” Nelson stressed.

The final banquet was highlighted by the awarding of the association’s highest honor: the Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths. The 2012 recipient was Gerhard (Gerry) Muenchmeyer, a long-time active industry participant and advocate for high standards and quality. He is a past president of NASSCO and currently serves as NASSCO Technical Director.

Long-time industry leader Gerry Muenchmeyer received NASSCO’s highest honor when he was inducted into the Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths. Making the presentation through a light-hearted roast was a previous inductee Mike Hogan. Pictured, left to right, along with fellow Society members are: Hogan, Wally Huber, Muenchmeyer and William Shook.

NASSCO officers for 2012 – 13 are: President John Nelson, Visu-Sewer; Vice President Joan Stone, Pipelogix; Secretary Stuart Tillery, Duke’s Root Control; and Treasurer Mark Metcalfe, Hoffman Southwest Corporation.

2012 NASSCO Officers: Vice President Joan Stone, President John Nelson, Treasurer Mark Metcalfe and Secretary Stuart Tillery.

The board of directors includes: Peter Kurz, Tri-State Utilities; Jacob Trapani, BLD Services; Steve Hirtz, SAK Construction; Michael Poplawski, Heitkamp; Tim Vivian, Green Mountain Pipeline Services; Steve Henning, Inland Pipe Rehabilitation; Kay Doheny, Jack Doheny Companies; Kathy Romans, Fuquay; Mike Russin, Pipeline Analytics; and Luis Leon, CDM-Smith.

The next convention will be held Feb. 13 – 16, 2013, at the Hawks Cay Island Resort in Duck Key, FL.

Related Articles

From Archive


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}