July 2019 Vol.74 No. 7

Rehab Technology

NASSCO Annual Convention Brings New Traditions

NASSCO’s 2019 Annual Conference kept traditions alive at the Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Ritz Carlton Hotel in April, by welcoming members and guests to the event with a poolside reception. Other traditions included activities such as the golf tournament and awards banquet, where the incoming and outgoing board of directors were recognized, the Trainer of the Year was announced and two new members were inducted to the Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths.

Left to right: NASSCO Board members Will Markey, Andy Rothenberg, Tim Vivian, Frank Kendrix, Michelle Beason, Jacob Trapani, Randy Belanger, Max Gowdy, Joe Schotthoefer and Jeremy Wagner. Not pictured is Laurie Perkins.
Lynn Osborn (left) is congratulated by Tim Vivian for being named to the Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths.









But as NASSCO continues to evolve and better serve the industry, new traditions began. This year, there was a different format for the general membership meeting, introduction of The Exchange educational program and a designated Committee Day.

At the opening general session, attendees received an overall update about committee activities and other NASSCO initiatives. After lunch, attendees jumped right into The Exchange, a new, educational format. The following day was dedicated to the many robust committees of NASSCO. Active participants met to discuss any outstanding items from the past year to determine goals for the coming year and welcome newcomers interested in getting involved.

Past Presidents were honored during a special reception to show the association’s deep appreciation for their service to NASSCO and their ongoing contributions. The awards banquet rounded out the busy week, after which attendees enjoyed casino play to support NASSCO’s Scholarship and Charitable Giving Program.

NASSCO has established active scholarship programs, which allow it to give back to the industry. With a record number of scholarship submissions, the NASSCO Board unanimously voted to award two Jeffrey Ralston Scholarships and three Jack Doheny Training Scholarships.

Scholarship winners included:

  • Jeffrey Ralston Scholarship Recipients: Amin Darabnoush Tehrani and Zahra Kohankar Kouchesfehani
  • Jack Doheny Training Scholarship Recipients: Devin Anne Booth, Hongfang Lu and Stephani Arredondo

Service recognition

Each year, NASSCO also recognizes one of its trainers who has demonstrated dedication to industry. This year, Jerry Weimer, Weimer Consulting, was honored as the Trainer of the Year.

Looking to also recognize past accomplishment and continued industry support, two long-time NASSCO members were inducted into The Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths, an honorary organization recognizing lifetime achievement within NASSCO and industry. Each year, past recipients must unanimously agree on the inductees for the current year and then heavily roast the recipients before they perform an entertaining induction ritual. Lynn Osborn, LEO Consulting Services and NASSCO’s technical director, and Robert Carpenter, editor-in-chief of Underground Construction magazine and the UCT Conference, were this year’s honorees.

Outgoing NASSCO President Tim Vivian, Green Mountain Pipeline Services, told attendees that “first and foremost, this year has been a great one. The staff at NASSCO has been great and I appreciate everything they do.

“I would really like to thank Sheila (Joy, executive director) for all she’s done. Sheila has been a great leader for NASSCO,” he continued. “I also appreciate the dedicated Board of Directors that I had the pleasure of serving with.

Outgoing NASSCO President Tim Vivian receives the traditional manhole cover, as recognition for his service, from NASSCO Executive Direction Sheila Joy.

“This industry is really the only thing I know. NASSCO needs to continue to push and grow this industry. It has been a great honor for me to serve as your president during a time of change for the association.”

The 2019–20 incoming NASSCO President Jake Trapani of BLD Services added that “the road has been paved for us to run down, with all the efforts of the NASSCO staff and the board leadership. I’m proud to be a part of this organization. Hopefully, I can fill the shoes of what Tim (Vivian) has accomplished.”

The new board of directors includes President Jake Trapani, Vice President Joe Schotthoefer, Treasurer/Secretary Max Gowdy and Past President Tim Vivian. Directors are: Will Markey, Andy Rothenberg, Frank Kendrix, Michelle Beason, Randy Belanger, Laurie Perkins and Jeremy Wagner.

The 2020 NASSCO Annual Convention will be held April 22–24 at the Hyatt Regency Gainey Ranch in Scottsdale, Ariz.


Related Articles

From Archive


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}